condensed discuss document expanded export feedback print share remove reset document_white enquire_white export_white report_white
How to contribute

Community Cenotaph

Offsite and Online
Various locations until 2018

Look out for our roadshow unit in your community as we come to discover, connect and share stories of those who served.

He Pou Aroha Community Cenotaph

Bradley, Michael. Getty Images.© Auckland War Memorial Museum Tāmaki Paenga Hira.

Contribute to Online Cenotaph in your community

Do your part and contribute to Online Cenotaph by adding information, digitising documents, letters, medals, photographs and war memorabilia relating to those who have served. These items and information will be uploaded to the database to create a lasting memory for future generations.

Online Cenotaph

Online Cenotaph is a comprehensive online hub for stories of New Zealand service personnel; it currently contains approximately 127,000 records in total with around 99,000 biographical records relating to WWI. Auckland Museum needs the help of communities throughout NZ to enhance these records further.

Innovative, purpose-built, digitisation kiosks

Scan in your photograph to upload Online Cenotaph.

Auckland War Memorial Museum - Tāmaki Paenga Hira.

He Pou Aroha, Community Cenotaph provides portable digital access to Online Cenotaph using innovative purpose-built digitisation kiosks.

The digitisation kiosks allow you to search Online Cenotaph, lay a virtual poppy against a specific person’s name and contribute additional information to the database.

Each kiosk contains an object photo booth that enables you to digitise your family's war related items such as medals, diaries, letters and more, within minutes.

The digitised objects are immediately uploaded to the relevant service person’s Online Cenotaph record for the world to see and future generations to remember.

Locations

He Pou Aroha provides access to Online Cenotaph at community venues and events. Over 65,000 people have discovered their connection using one of our custom-designed digital kiosks.
 
Dig out the photographs and objects that belonged to family and friends who served and bring them along to scan and upload at one of the locations below. Your contribution will provide a lasting legacy for generations to come.
 

Location

Availability

Armistice in Cambridge Sat 11 Nov and Sun 12 Nov
Auckland Central Library Tues 18 Sept 2017 - Nov 2018
Cambridge Library Sat 11 Nov 2017 - Thurs 18 Jan 2018
Devonport Library Tues 19 Sept - Thurs 26 Oct
East Coast Bays Library Tues 19 Sept - Mon 23 Oct
Hamilton Library Sat 11 Nov - Thurs 7 Dec
Huntly Library Tues 20 Mar 2018 - Sun 29 Apr 2018
Manurewa Library Sat 5 May 2018 - Sun 10 June 2018
Mount Maunganui RSA Tues 21 Nov 2017 - Sun 28 Jan 2018
Mt Albert Library Tues 19 Sept to Thurs 2 Nov
New Lynn Library Wed 25 Oct - Mon 13 Nov
Ngaruawahia Library Tues 1 May 2018 - Sat 2 June 2018
Onehunga Community House Wed 20 Sep - Sun 29 Oct
Pakuranga Library Tues 3 Oct - Mon 13 Nov
Papakura Museum Weds 18 Apr 2018 - Mon 21 May 2018
Panmure Library Tues 29 Mar 2018 - Mon 30 Apr 2018
Parnell Library Fri 2 June 2018- Thurs 29 March 2018
Raglan Library Tues 5 June 2018 - Fri 6 July 2018
Remuera Library Sat 30 Sep - Sun 29 Oct
Sir Edmund Hillary Library, Papakura Tues 4 July - Thur 14 Sep
South Taranaki RSA Tues 10 Apr 2018 - Mon 30 Apr 2018
Taukau Library Tues 20 Feb 2018 - Fri 16 Mar 2018
Tauranga A&P Show Sun 14 Jan
Tauranga RSA Tues 21 Nov 2018 - Sun 28 Jan 2018
Te Awamutu Library Sat 11 Nov 2017 - Thurs 18 Jan 2018
Te Kauwhata Library Sat 9 Dec 2017 - Thurs 18 Jan 2018
Waihi Beach RSA Tues 21 Nov 2017 - Sun 28 Jan 2018

The mobile roadshow unit is visiting events within the former Auckland Province, from Cape Reinga to Taupō, and individual kiosk units are also available in libraries, community groups and centres, museums and RSAs.

Auckland War Memorial Museum Tāmaki Paenga Hira

Come and meet with us at our next event or drop in to one of the organisations hosting an Artefact Digitisation Unit.
 

 


Get involved

If you are interested in hosting He Pou Aroha Community Cenotaph in your local community, please email:

Email us