condensed discuss document expanded export feedback print share remove reset document_white enquire_white export_white report_white
discuss document export feedback print share gallery-landscape xml

Colin McCahon : is this the promised land? Vol.2 1960 -1987

documentary heritage
  • Description

    "The second of an extraordinary two-volume work chronicling forty-five years of painting by our most important artist, Colin McCahon."--Publisher's website.

  • Place
  • Other Id

    ND1108.M22 SIM (Library of Congress Call Number)

    91901 (Cat ID)

    91704 (Presto content ID)

  • Department

Images and documents


  • Object Type
  • Name/Title
    Colin McCahon : is this the promised land? Vol.2 1960 -1987
  • Primary Maker
  • Contributor/Publisher
    Auckland University Press
  • Place
  • Date
  • Physical Description

    398 pages : colour illustrations ; 29 cm

  • Language
  • Level of Current Record
    Bib record
  • Member Object

    1 item in this collection. View all items.

  • Subject Category
  • Provenance Details
    Colin McCahon: There is Only One Direction. Vol 1. 1919?1959
  • Content
    Introduction -- Newton I, 1960-64 -- Newton II, 1965-69 -- Muriwai I, 1970-72 -- Muriwai II, 1973-74 -- Muriwai III, 1975-76 -- Grey Lynn I, 1977-79 -- Grey Lynn II, 1979-83 -- epilogue -- list of artworks -- exhibition record, 1960-2018 -- notes -- select bibliography -- index.
  • Public Access Text

    Second monograph in two-volume set. "Along with Colin McCahon: There is Only One Direction. Vol 1. 1919?1959, this book will be the definitive work on New Zealand's leading artist for many years to come."--Publisher's website.

  • Subject Notes
    Peter Simpson is a former associate professor of English at the University of Auckland. He is the author of numerous critically acclaimed books, including Colin McCahon: The Titirangi Years, 1953?1959 (Auckland University Press, 2007) and Bloomsbury South: The Arts in Christchurch 1933-1953 (Auckland University Press, 2016). He has also curated three significant exhibitions of McCahon's work. He received the Prime Minister's Award for Literary Achievement (non-fiction) in 2017.
  • Collection Type
    Reading Room
  • Copyright
    All rights reserved
  • Last Update
    19 Dec 2023
The development of the Auckland War Memorial Museum online collection is an ongoing process; updates, new images and records are added weekly. In some cases, records have yet to be confirmed by Museum staff, and there could be mistakes or omissions in the information provided.

The gift of curiosity

With unlimited free entry to all paid exhibitions, discounted event tickets and exclusive Member-only events, a Museum Membership is the gift that keeps on giving year-round.


The gift of curiosity