condensed discuss document expanded export feedback print share remove reset document_white enquire_white export_white report_white

Bulletin of the Auckland Museum

Lichen notes from the Kermadec Islands. II. Ramalina

discuss document export feedback print share

Lichen notes from the Kermadec Islands. II. Ramalina

Peter J. de Lange
Department of Conservation
Dan J. Blanchon
Unitec Institute of Technology
16 October 2015


Eleven species of Ramalina (R. australiensis, R. canariensis, R. celastri, R. exiguella, R. geniculata, R. leiodea, R. luciae, R. meridionalis, R. microspora, R. pacifica and R. peruviana) are accepted for the Kermadec Islands. The northern Kermadec Islands had the greatest diversity of species (eleven species) while the southern Kermadec Islands had collectively five species. These were distributed as follows (islands arranged from north to south): northern Kermadec Islands (the Herald Islets (six species), the Meyer Islands group (two species), Raoul Island (nine species)); southern Kermadec Islands (Macauley Island (six species), Curtis Island (one species), Cheeseman Island (one species), L’Esperance (two species)). Ramalina leiodea is a new addition to the mycobiota of the New Zealand Botanical Region and R. canariensis and R. meridionalis are new records for the Kermadec Islands, and a significant easterly extension for R. meridionalis.

Read the full text PDF

Cite this article

Peter de J. Lange and Dan J. Blanchon. Lichen notes from the Kermadec Islands. II. Ramalina. Auckland War Memorial Museum - Tāmaki Paenga Hira. Bulletin of the Auckland Museum 20: 171:182.